DofE Diamond Challenge – Physical DONE! 12 months of Swim swim swimming… 

My DofE Diamond Challenge has been a long slow burner…as HRH himself says, a DofE award is a ‘do-it-yourself tool kit for life’. And this year’s life has been different to any other in my adulthood, in large part due to deciding to do this year long replay of my own Gold Award, first completed 25 years ago. 

This week I’ll round up my year of Diamond Challenge with a blog post for each section of the award that I’ve re-completed. 

  • Wed – Skill
  • Today – Volunteering and Physical (this one!)
  • Friday – Residential and Expedition 

Physical – a year of swimming – 12 photos chosen from hundreds…one photo per month in chronological order. I have also spent some time in chlorinated pools (eeeurgh) bettering my stroke (ie. learning how to front crawl gracefully), with the wonderful Kari, who has completed her own Diamond Challenge this year. Watch a little film about her here.

  • Yes it is cold
  • Yes I do it all year
  • No I do not wear a wetsuit. Well, I did once, for the mile swim in Torbay, but it wasn’t a pleasant experience.

There have been long walks with multiple swims, swims by waterfalls, swims in the dark, swims with the moon, swims in silly hats, swims to wash off the day, swims to sort out thoughts, swims to explore caves, and swims where it is more about the cake, just a little bit.

In reality the swimming year cannot be scaled down. It has had the biggest impact on my life of anything since getting married and having children. It’s not just physical fitness so much as all round good feeling, and that is from a combination of the cold water, the salt (or the peat!), the fresh air, the friends and the being outdoors.

More swimming! Thankyou to anyone who has been a swim buddy this year.  

 

Leave a Reply

